SCE News

Stock Car Extreme News

Seitz takes Dusky ISMA Friday night event

Use for General Discussion

Moderators: Carl Smith, Ron Verash, Frankie_D

Seitz takes Dusky ISMA Friday night event

Postby Ron Verash » Tue Jul 29, 2014 5:56 pm

Ben Seitz captured Friday’s International Supermodified can't use’n feature at Sandusky (Ohio) Speedway. (ISMA Photo)

SANDUSKY, Ohio – Night one of the 37th annual Hy-Miler Nationals at Sandusky Speedway ended in the early hours of Saturday morning. But a strong group of ISMA Supermodified fans stayed up to watch Ben Seitz win the Fast 40-lap feature. Seitz would get by early leader Jeff Locke on lap 16 and would not be contested in the preliminary to Saturday night’s 100-lap main event. “The car was awesome,” Seitz said in victory lane. “We had a good starting spot but the car was real good. Jeff got in the turns real hot and washed up. I think he was getting loose. But, I got under him and the rest was history.”

With a restart with three laps to go, D.J. Shullick was looking to chase down Seitz and challenge for the win but came up short. “I thought I might have a shot at it, but I was a little tight,” Shullick said. “I would have to have a perfect lap to get around him but with a couple of laps to go, it didn’t give me enough time to set him up.”

Mike Lichty started ninth and came home with a third place finish. “It was a good run. Obviously it was a quick race, being only 40 laps and everyone knew that,” Lichty said. “We wanted to get to the front as quickly as we could but not burn up our stuff either. It’s a tough race but to come from ninth to third, we were still missing something. We don’t have the drive off and the side bite that we need. It’s another top three, so we will take it.”

All three are looking towards the big 100-lap event on Saturday night. “We should have a pretty good car . We need to make some adjustments for tomorrow for the longer race,” Seitz said. “But everything was good tonight.”

Lou Cicconi Jr. was fourth with current ISMA Supermodified point leader Rob Summers rounding out the top five.

The finish:

Ben Seitz, D.J. Shullick, Mike Lichty, Lou Cicconi Jr., Rob Summers, Jeff Locke, Jon McKennedy, Otto Sitterly, Kyle Edwards, Charlie Schultz, Mark Sammut, Trevor Berry, Mike McVetta, Eric Lewis , Jim Paller, Ed Witkum, Dave McKnight, Tim Ice, Bobby Santos,III, Alison Cumens, Bobby Dawson, Trent Stephens, Matt Marlow, Kevin Jaycox, Ryan Conlam, Timmy Jedrezejk, Kevin Feeney, Moe Lilje
Ron Verash
Stock Car Extreme/
Michana Vintage Racers
User avatar
Ron Verash
Posts: 1559
Joined: Wed Jun 21, 2006 12:20 am
Location: South Bend, IN.

Return to General Discussion

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 17 guests

  • Weather
  • Sponsors

  • Site Updates
    No updates planned at this time.
  • Midwest Racing News

  • Local Short Tracks