SCE News

Stock Car Extreme News

Lannigan takes Berlin Dirt Go

Marne, Michigan

Moderators: Carl Smith, Ron Verash, Frankie_D

Lannigan takes Berlin Dirt Go

Postby Ron Verash » Sun Sep 22, 2013 7:53 pm

Darrell Lanigan wins the World of Outlaw 75
Brian Ruhlman, Josh Frye, and Rich Lieb

Marne, MI – Under overcast skies, one of the most anticipated races of the season was finally upon us; the 2nd Annual Down and Dirty 100. It was Darrell Lanigan taking home the checkers after dominating the World of Outlaw Late Model feature

This time Darrell Lanigan didn't need to pull off any late-race dramatics to win the Keyser Manufacturing 'Down & Dirty 75' Presented by NAPA Auto Parts. Lanigan emerged victorious in the World of Outlaws Late Model Series special for the second consecutive year in convincing fashion, grabbing the lead from Shane Clanton on lap 32 and dominating the remainder of the distance. Continuing his mastery of the clay-covered 7/16th-mile asphalt track, Lanigan turned back brief threats from Clanton on restarts and while negotiating lapped traffic to cross the finish line 4.629 seconds -- over a full straightaway -- ahead of his fellow WoO LMS regular. The two-time tour champion earned $15,000 for his series-leading 11th triumph of 2013.Rick Eckert, who started from the pole position and led laps 1-25, finished third at Berlin for the second consecutive year. WoO LMS points leader Josh Richards continued his march to a third career championship with a steady fourth-place finish and Tim Fuller primarily used the outside groove to place fifth after starting 16th.A-Main Finish: 1. Darrell Lanigan, 2. Shane Clanton, 3. Rick Eckert, 4. Josh Richards, 5. Tim Fuller, 6. Matt Miller, 7. Chub Frank, 8. Morgan Bagley, 9. Clint Smith, 10. Bub McCool, 11. Rich Neiser, 12. Eric Wells, 13. Brian Ruhlman, 14. Andrew Reaume, 15. Eric Spangler, 16. Ryan VanderVeen, 17. Jeep VanWormer, 18. Curt Spalding, 19. Jason Feger, 20. David Hilliker, 21. Tim McCreadie, 22. Sammy Epling, 23. Dave Hartman, 24. Tom Sprague Jr.

It was #8 Sadie Klein starting on the pole for the 25-lap Street Stock feature, but her time as the leader was short-lived at she brought out the first caution of the night on lap 2. This gave the lead to the #65 of William Brandt, Jr. On the restart, the #13 of Derek Poland took the lead and it was #44 Josh Frye on the move, anxious to advance his position. Frye had been stalking Poland for a handful of laps and just as he was about to try to pass for the lead, the second caution came out when the #67 of Carlind Forsythe spun in turn 2. Poland got a great restart and was able to put some space between himself and Frye, but that didn’t last long and Frye took the lead on lap 8. Lap 10 saw the third caution of the race for debris on the frontstretch. Frye got a good restart and was able to pull away from Poland by just over 1.5 seconds. as the field was coming to 10 laps to go. As the laps wound down, Frye was getting further and further ahead of the field, but his large lead was erased when the #6 of Mark Farber brought out the caution on lap 19. It was much of the same when green flag came back out; Frye was leading the field and pulling away. The next yellow ended the race on lap 22 and it was Frye getting the win. The rest of the top five were #35 Dan Dykman, Brandt and #23 Rick Huisken.

The Modified 30-lap feature was up next with #87 David Mielke showing the way. Mielke and #49 Brian Ruhlman were able to pull away from the rest of the field, but behind them, many positions were still being battled for. Ruhlman was creeping up on Mielke’s bumper on lap 8 and by the time they completed lap 9, Ruhlman found himself leading the race. The race ran caution-free until lap 16 for the #44 James Kimmel. Ruhlman got a good restart and ran away from the field, he left Mielke to fend of #0X Zack Olger. Olger handily make the pass for second, but had the daunting task of reeling in the leader with just 10 laps to go. Ruhlman flat-out dominated this race, winning by 8.745 seconds. Olger, Mielke, #1S Andy Sprague and #111 Curt Spalding completed the top 5.

The final race of the night was the 10-lap 4-Cylinder race; #84 Rich Lieb started in position 1. While Lieb was leading, it was #11x Jason Essex gaining momentum and it looked like he would be taking the lead, but the caution came out on lap 2 while froze the field in place. Just as the field was getting wound back up, the caution was out again on lap 4. Just after the restart, it was shaping up to be a three-car battle for the lead between Lieb, Essex and #17 Ryan Hamm. Lieb held on to get the win in a race that ended in a yellow-checker. Hamm, Essex, #4 Ray Geetings and #2 Buck Spencer rounded out the top 5.

Next Tuesday, September 24, Berlin Raceway wraps up the season with the Engine Pro Sprints on Dirt series. The Sprints will be joined by Modifieds, Street Stocks, Bombers and 4-Cylinders. Tickets are $18 for adults, $10 for students 12-17, $5 for kids 8-11 and children 11-under are free; racing begins at 7:00 p.m.
Ron Verash
Stock Car Extreme/
Michana Vintage Racers
User avatar
Ron Verash
Posts: 1559
Joined: Wed Jun 21, 2006 12:20 am
Location: South Bend, IN.

Return to Berlin Raceway

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests

  • Weather
  • Sponsors

  • Site Updates
    No updates planned at this time.
  • Midwest Racing News

  • Local Short Tracks