SCE News

Stock Car Extreme News

Autograph Night Draws a Crowd at Plymouth Speedway

Plymouth, Indiana

Moderators: Carl Smith, Ron Verash, Frankie_D

Autograph Night Draws a Crowd at Plymouth Speedway

Postby martinfan » Sun Jul 12, 2015 6:22 pm

Erickson Grabs First Modified Feature Win at Plymouth Speedway

This past Saturday night the Plymouth Speedway hosted five classes of race cars for Autograph night. The racing action was tight as the Playground of Power raced against Mother Nature and another wet forecast.

The racing action was kicked off with the heat events for the Wal Mart Thnderstocks. Brian Banta, riding off the momentum of last week's feature win, held off all challengers for the first win of the night. Finishing in second was Derek Danley followed by Beau DeYoung in third. The second heat for the division went to the "Wildman" Jim Henson with John Rhodes in a close second and Tom Grall crossing the line in third.

The WTCA Super Streets ran one heat of eight laps to set the feature line up. Grabbing the win was the points leader David Short. The "Big Daddy" Roger Duszynski held off Michael Clark for second.

In the Swan Lake Resort Modifieds there were three eight lap heats with the top five transferring to the "A" Main. In heat one, Zeke McKenzie held on for the win followed by Bradley Jameson, Chris Kittle, Heath Gagnon and Larry Thompson. In the second heat Dylan Woodling ran the high line for the win. He was followed into the main event by Tommy Beezley, Tyler Fitzpatrick, Steve Clark, and Darren Wireman in fifth. The final heat for the modifieds was a tight one with Jeffrey Erickson grabbing the checkered flag. He was followed by the points leader Jamie Lomax in second, Derek Losh, Steve Hogue, and Dillion Nusbaum all punching their tickets for the "A" main via the heat.

The Dickies Restaurant 600 sprints had two heats started by group qualifying times established earlier in the night. Alexis Adgate pickedup the first of two heats while holding off Breiden Mooney and Dylan Woodling in third. The final heat was won by the points leader Eric Saunders. He was followed across the line by Nick Yoder and Chad Hartzell in the third.

The final heat of the night was for the Bane Welker Cyberstocks. Carson Day grabbed top honors in the eight lap affair. Second went to Jake Strake and Kirby Trent finishe in third.

The autograph session was held for all of the fans on hand in the pit area where a number of fans were able to meet their favorite drivers of the Playground of Power and get up close to their favorite machine.

The "B" Main Challenge was twelve laps to determine the final five positions for the "A" and was won by Adam Williams in his first trip to the Playground in well over a year. He was followed by Darrel Lowe, Matt Koval, Scott Fitzpatrick and Dan Streeter. Lowe and Koval took the money and ran putting Mark Swan and Lee Rippe into the final for the mods.

The features were kicked off by the Thunderstocks. In the twenty lap event John Rhodes got back on top of the podium with another well wheeled feature run. Derek Danley finished in his best feature of the year in second while Kieth Crissinger got back on the podium with a last lap pass.

In the Super Streets feature Calvin Peek picked up his second feature win of the season with a strong, dominating run out front. Roger Duszynski held off the points leader, David Short, in a hard fight for the second place.

The UMP Modified feature was a toughly contested event throughout the field; however, Jamie Lomax ran out of laps trying to chase down Jeffrey Erickson for the win from the inside. Erickson picked up his first feature win at the Playground this season. Lomax held off Derek Losh for second. Losh got back to the podium for the first time this season in third.

The 600 sprint feature got off to a rough start with an incident involving five cars at the start/finish line brought out an early red flag. All the drivers were able to walk away and the restart followed shortly thereafter. Nick Yoder received his first feature win of his career by holding off Eric Saunders in second. The podium was rounded out by Dylan Woodling.

The final event of the night was the twelve lap feature for the Cyberstocks where another first time winner got on top of the podium with Jake Straka taking the chercked flag just ahead of Carson Day in second and Kirby Trent finished in third.

This weekend the Playground of Power will host all five divisons again for another exciting night of racing action on Saturday beginning at seven o'clock. Hogue Engines will also be presenting two bicycles to be given away to a very lucky boy and girl. For more information visit the Plymouth Speedway online at
Robert Borton
mark martin fan forever
pray everyday for everyone
User avatar
Track Champion
Posts: 563
Joined: Wed Aug 06, 2008 4:36 pm
Location: Elkhart, IN

Return to Plymouth Speedway

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 18 guests

  • Weather
  • Sponsors

  • Site Updates
    No updates planned at this time.
  • Midwest Racing News

  • Local Short Tracks