SCE News
Congratulations to

Stock Car Extreme News


South Bend, Indiana

Moderators: Carl Smith, Ron Verash, Frankie_D

Sign up NOW and get instant updates in 2013!!


Postby Carl Smith » Wed Aug 30, 2006 8:45 am

Rain finally stayed away on Friday to allow the racing action to take place at the South Bend Motor Speedway on Friday.

In the Sportsman Late Model Feature, Brian Miller led the field of 16 at the green holding off a challenge by Billy Rutt. Rutt would suffer a flat tire on lap 10 forcing him to the infield. Kevin Papa then made his way around Miller for the top spot and led the remainder of the race for the win. Paul Scott held off Bob Golubski for 2nd with Charlie Hanna and Dave Mannia rounding out the top 5. 6th - 10th went to Mark Blessing, Al Mauer, Ronnie McLean, Jeff Forsythe and Mike Verduin. In the Sportsman “B” event, Keith Carter took the lead away from Les McLean at the half-way mark and went on for the victory. Leroy Roy, McLean, Robert Haisley and Jason Newgent finished in the top 5.

The Mini Stocks went 25 laps in their Feature event. Drew Davis led through lap 6 when Rich Hensley flew up from the rear of the field to take over and lead the remainder of the way to the checker. Brian Lindsey followed in 2nd over Jim Cauffman, Jim Newman, Bruce Pratt, Dale Olivier, Jr., Davis, Chad Lindsey, Kevin Davis and Tom Burke in the top 10.

The 20 lap Thunder Car Feature saw James Click running out front for the first 8 laps when Terry Denaway, Jr. took over the lead. Denaway held off a challenge by Corey Blume and Ron Sikorski when Sikorski was able to get by and lead the final 5 laps for the win. Denaway, Blume, Matt Elliott and Corey Woods filled out the top 5 spots with 6th - 10th going to Tony Johns, Click, Rusty Freeman, Paul Fontanelli and Steve Opfer.

In earlier events, Bob Golubski set quick time for Sportsman Late Models with a 12.723. Al Mauer was the Dash winner with Heat wins going to Les McLean, Billy Rutt and Mark Blessing.

Brian Lindsey was fastest in the Mini Stocks with a 13.350. Chad Lindsey was the Dash winner with Drew Davis and Jim Cauffman picking up Heat wins.
User avatar
Carl Smith
Posts: 4822
Images: 6
Joined: Thu Sep 15, 2005 1:17 pm
Location: South Bend IN

Return to South Bend Motor Speedway

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests

  • Weather
  • Sponsors

  • Site Updates
    No updates planned at this time.
  • Midwest Racing News

  • Local Short Tracks