SCE News

Stock Car Extreme News


South Bend, Indiana

Moderators: Carl Smith, Ron Verash, Frankie_D

Sign up NOW and get instant updates in 2013!!


Postby Carl Smith » Mon Jun 26, 2006 10:41 am


The Vintage Modifieds joined the regular field of Sportsman Late Models,
Mini Stocks and Thunder Cars on Friday as the South Bend Motor Speedway hosted the 6th Annual Racers Reunion with over 150 "Old Timers" on hand to chat and reminisce with, as well as several vintage race cars and thousands of photos and memorabilia to look over. Ron Verash always does a great job putting this event together each year.

In the Vintage Modified Feature, Rob Parker took the early lead and never relinquished it as he went the entire distance to the checker. Cautions slowed the field a few times and the red flag flew on lap 23 as Mike Ouendag took a hard hit into the turn 3 wall. Ouendag was ok, but the car was is pretty bad shape. As the field again went back to racing, Bob Martin made a last lap effort to get by Parker, but had to settle for
second as Parker took the win. Larry Mollohan came across 3rd with Rick
Nelson and Steve Fuller rounding out the top 5.

The Sportsman Late Models started 16 in their 30 lap Main. Greg Gifford
led the field at the green with Brian Miller close behind. A multi-car
crash in turn 3 again brought out a red flag. Kevin Clash and Bob Bean
received the most damage and were forced to pull into the infield. As the
race resumed, Gifford continued his lead with Charlie Hanna closing in and getting by on lap 18. Dave Mannia then made his way to the front to battle for the top spot but was unable to catch Hanna who took the
checker. Gifford held onto 3rd over Lou Stremme, Erik Bidwell, Paul Scott, Jeff Forsythe, Keith Carter, Kevin Papa and Miller in the top 10. Andy Lidecker led all 15 laps of the Sportsman "B" event. Bill Rutt, Scott
Fairchild John Streeting, Jr. and Robert Haisley finished out the top 5.

Kevin Davis led the first 4 rounds of the 25 lap Mini Stock Feature before
he was passed by Derek Davis. Jim Cauffman drove up through the pack to challenge and take command of the lead on lap 10 with Rich Hensley on his rear bumper. Hensley made several attempts to get by Cauffman, but Cauffman was able to hold Hensley off and take the win. Jim Newman crossed in 3rd with 4th - 10th going to Derrick Griffin, Aaron Bridwell, Ricky Stagen, Ben McCallum, Dale Olivier, Sr., Chad Lindsey and Brian Lindsey.

A caution on the first lap of the Thunder Car Feature forced several cars out early. When the race was restarted, Robert Grahl led through lap 3 with Tony Johns taking over on lap 4. Matt Elliott then got by Johns for the top spot on lap 12 but was challenged by Corey Woods who went by and led the final 5 laps for the win. Elliott, Johns, Ron Sikorski and Grahl finished in the top 5 with 6th - 10th going to David Pointon Jr, Rick Boal, Corey Blume, Amanda White and Kenneth Dodd. Bubba James took the “B” Feature win, leading from start to finish. James Click, Jerry Ellinger, Jr., Ryan Hodges and Rusty Freeman crossed in the top 5.

In preliminary events, Dave Mannia ran the fast time in Sportsman Late
Models with a 12.490. Paul Scott was the Dash winner with Jason Newgent, Bill Rutt and Lou Stremme winning Heats.

Tim Martin was fastest in the Vintage Modifieds with a 13.273. Rick Nelson and Larry Mollohan were Heat winners.

Fast time in the Mini Stocks went to Derrick Griffin with a 13.116. Jim
Cauffman won the Dash with Heat wins going to Tom Burke and Rich Hensley.

At intermission, as part of "Old Timers Night", Irish Saunders announced
the inductions into the Michiana Racing Hall of Fame. This year's
inductees were Dick Bandy, Wayne Bryant, Frank Demske, the late Ben Leyba, the late Red Marley, Leroy Skils and the late Charlie Vanacker.

This coming Friday is an exciting night of racing with the "Firecracker
100" events featuring a 100 laps for the Sportsman Late Models, along with special features for the Mini Stocks and Thunder Cars. There will also be an autograph session for the fans and a great fireworks display at
intermission. Start your 4th of July weekend with some great racing
action! Gates open at 6:00 p.m., Autograph Session at 7:00 and Races at 8:00 p.m.
User avatar
Carl Smith
Posts: 4822
Images: 6
Joined: Thu Sep 15, 2005 1:17 pm
Location: South Bend IN

Return to South Bend Motor Speedway

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests

  • Weather
  • Sponsors

  • Site Updates
    No updates planned at this time.
  • Midwest Racing News

  • Local Short Tracks